Why You Should Register To Vote… And Vote

TODAY IS YOUR LAST DAY TO REGISTER TO VOTE.

I REPEAT: TODAY IS YOUR LAST DAY TO REGISTER TO VOTE FOR THE JUNE 8TH GENERAL ELECTION.

If you’re not already registered to vote – what the hell are you doing? Do it. Now. HERE. Just 5 minutes.

I’m not sure what makes me so politically minded. I don’t come from a family with any particular political interest. In fact, my mother had never voted until I took her with me for the 2010 general election (and then had to ‘recommend’ who she should vote for).

From a young age my view had always been to repeat ‘if you don’t vote, you can’t complain’.

I think this was something I saw on a poster in the council offices when you used to have to pay your council tax in person over the counter. It always stuck with me and, apart from the vote for our Police and Crime Commissioner when I was ill, I have never missed a vote for anything. You want me to choose a box and I will do it.

Now, everyone doesn’t have to turn up to every vote (I’m a realist) but if there is one you’re going to turn up for – make it this one!!

My argument regarding voting has since gained momentum – feminist points, personal points on what has now actively affected me, more understand on how the political system works.

That has always been my stance but now I consider myself in a more privileged position.

In my journalism training I have spent three years surrounded by people willing to discuss, scrutinise and dissect politics on a day-to-day basic. We’ve had lectures from a politics wizard who we all consider to be the all-knowing. He wouldn’t tell you who to vote for but he would tell you how to vote.

SO REGISTER NOW!!

Register now and learn how the system works (because none of us know all the ins and outs – it’s complicated).

Register now and decide later. You’ve got until June 8th.

Just do not count yourself out of the game. Making your voice heard is so important.

Even if you spoil your vote – make sure you have the option to do that by registering.

I don’t care how you do it* – just make sure your hat is in the ring.

*In a perfect world I would prefer it if you did so with an informed viewpoint but, after spending three years talking to people about local politics, you can’t have everything. I was told a story last week of someone who refused to vote Labour in the general elections because they were angry that their local council did not cut their neighbours tree down. That is not how it works but that is for another day.

Leave a Reply

